The basics
The Symbols
Modifiers of Meaning

Which planet rules my house? [video]

Planetary rulership in astrology describes the affinity between a planet and a sign. Every major planet in astrology has a sign or two that is energetically aligned with it.

The energy of Aries, for example, is very similar to the planet Mars. While Mars is in Aries, it is “at home” and able to more comfortably express its basic nature. You can think of Mars as the “landlord” of Aries. Mars has a special influence over the Aries house and any planets in Aries. Some planets rule two signs. Mars has the same relationship with Scorpio, the other sign it rules.

Committing rulerships to memory makes the task of reading charts much easier!

Table of Planetary Rulerships

Planet Rules
Sun Leo
Moon Cancer
Mercury Gemini and Virgo
Venus Libra and Taurus
Mars Aries
(Traditionally* Scorpio)
Jupiter Sagittarius
(Traditionally* Pisces)
Saturn Capricorn
(Traditionally* Aquarius)
Uranus Aquarius
Neptune Pisces
Pluto Scorpio

*Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto are relatively new on the planetary “scene,” having been discovered only after the development of telescopes. Therefore, Aquarius, Pisces, and Scorpio also have traditional rulers among the seven visible planets.

Some astrologers believe that Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto are impersonal energies, and as such, they rule no signs. They exclusively use traditional rulerships.

I encourage you to learn both modern and traditional rulerships while you are learning the basics.